REVIEW: Chef

I’m willing to bet that “Chef” is the best movie of 2014 that you’ve never heard of. Well, if you’re a foodie and have a sense of how the internet works. Okay, I realize that’s probably a small contingent of you. Whatever.

meh

Let’s start by running down all of the A-Listers who are in this film:

  • Dustin Hoffman
  • John Leguizamo
  • Sofia Vergara
  • Robert Downing, Jr.
  • Scarlett Johansson

chef

Yah. I know. Have have you not heard of this movie? It stars Jon Favreau (of Iron Man and Avengers fame) as Carl Casper, a chef who has sacrificed his relationships (including his now-ex-wife and son) to become an amazing chef. It was all going seemingly well until Dustin Hoffman (who owns the restaurant) shows up and goes all Cruise Director, demanding a clichéd menu, to include chocolate lava cake, to impress the world’s best food blogger and critic. Chocolate. Lava. Cake.

grumpy cat

Needless to say, the critic has nothing but awful things to say about the dining experience and things just go downhill from there, largely thanks to the internet.

internet

Now, I’m not one to give away spoilers (or if I do, I give a warning right up front), so I’m going to stop with the plot line there. What I will say is the movie made me laugh out loud, as well as embrace my love of food. Seriously, he makes a grilled cheese that made me want to crawl through the TV, face-first into that crunchy, toasty, gooey, melty pile of bread and cheese…

give-it-to-me-gif

It’s a show about food and restaurants, so there is a solid level of foul language. But, amid the f-bombs, there are sweet father/son moments, bonds of friendship, and an encouraging story of what it really means to do what you love and love what you do. Check it out on Netflix, and don’t forget to rate it!

Leave a Reply

