Bibbidi Bobbidi Boo!

godmotherThere are days I wish I had a fairy godmother and then I realize I really wouldn’t want someone following me around, appearing out of thin air, scaring me half to death every time I needed something I didn’t know I needed. But it’d be pretty cool to have someone change some seagulls into stilettos. Dang birds…

rats with wingsNovember 10th, in case you didn’t know, is the Marine Corps Birthday (they’re 239 years old this year and looking as sexy as ever). This birthday is marked with a Ball. I’m talking formal gowns, sword arches, pageantry, and cake. Y’all know how I love cake! 

OtterSince we’re in the process of paying for planning a wedding, I didn’t exactly have the time or resources to go out and buy another fancy dress. (I was told I couldn’t wear my wedding dress.) Wait, what’s that? We have two events? Clearly I need two dresses because duh!

same clothesWhere could I get two dresses on the cheap that would wow my man, pay proper respect to the Marine Corps Birthday, and wouldn’t be two more things hanging in my closet that I’d never wear again? Enter: My Fairy Godmother, or as I like to call her, Rent The Runway.

RTRGo online, pick out the designer dress you want to wear in your size, accessorize it with a clutch, necklace, earrings, bracelet, and/or shrug, and Salagadoola Mechicka Boola! It’s at your door just in time for your event.

ding dongRTR Contents

Open it up and you’ll find a pre-paid return envelope, a reminder of when the item is due back, and the garment(s) you selected from the comfort of your own couch. Just like that, you can go from scrubbed-out sweatpants and the shirt you’ve been wearing for two days to BADGLEY MISCHKA!

GabbanaSome women are really good at finding beautiful dresses on sale. I mean, it should be listed as both a skill and a magic trick. Whenever I go to the clearance racks, all I find are ratty “deodorant-stained, 12 sizes to big, and missing a zipper” dresses. Seriously, if that much foundation is on the dress, how much was on your face??

ewIs Rent The Runway the most economical way to go? No, that would be the aforementioned clearance rack where you can allegedly find a great dress for $25. Is Rent The Runway the most convenient option for ladies who hate the mall, love designer labels but hate designer prices? Yes.

High-Five-GIF-1

Now, if only I’d discovered this gem before I bought my wedding dress… Don’t get me wrong, I love it but what on earth am I gonna do with it after the wedding? Could have rented something twice (once for portraits and once for the wedding) for a fraction of the cost. Stupid hindsight…

1:4 dress 1:4 Ball
Gold Glitteratti Gown by Badgley Mischka
Retail: $650
Rental: $80

Screen Shot 2014-11-25 at 12.09.52 PM

ejection seat love

Stamped with Flowers Gown by Badgley Mischka
Retail: $990
Rental: $150

Screen Shot 2014-11-25 at 12.13.01 PM

 

Oh, and I’ve rented my bachelorette party cocktail dress, earrings, and bracelet from RTR. Long live the internet!

Leave a comment